Advent Wall Spiral

Advent, Prayer

This year, I came up with a tool for prayer during Advent called an Advent Spiral.  It is a cross between an Advent calendar and an Advent wreath.  An Advent Calendar marks days; the Advent Wreath marks weeks, and the Advent Spiral marks both.  In our parish, these spirals are appearing in different ways:  on our bulletin covers, as a wooden wreath, as a piece of wall art, and as a Praying in Color tool.  I developed the wall art piece because I have a large empty wall in my office, and I sometimes find praying in color in small spaces to be constricting.

I had the space and was intentionally setting aside the time, so I thought, “Why not?”  Here is my empty spiral on the wall:

Advent Wall Spiral

I used a 3.5” ruffle circle punch to cut out each of the circles, 25 in all this year.  The 4 small stars in the circles represent the Sundays in Advent.  You can find the file to print them here:

Advent Wall Spiral Sunday stars

Each day during Advent, pray while you color in one circle.  I will post my week by week pictures on this blog over the next four weeks.  May God bless your Advent journey of preparation and anticipation!

For more info on Praying in Color, see http://prayingincolor.com/advent-calendar-templates-a-countup-to-christmas.

For more Advent Spiral resources, check out these two posts:

Advent Spiral, Praying in Color:

Advent Spiral, wooden wreath:  https://familygodtime.wordpress.com/2015/11/16/the-advent-spiral-a-new-way-to-mark-time/

6 thoughts on “Advent Wall Spiral

Leave a Reply

