Listening Prayer

Prayer
prophets

photo by dotbenjamin on flickr.com

The prophets listened to God and told the kings and the people what was on God’s mind.  Today, we are going to practice listening closely as we pray.  We will have some time of silence.  During that time, write down every single thing that you are able to hear (cars going by or the refrigerator running, for example).  After our time of silence, you will have time to think about how what you heard reminds you of God and what God might be calling you to do or to be.  We will each pray about one of these things out loud.

Here is one example:  “Dear God, I heard the refrigerator running in the kitchen today, and it reminded me to thank you that I have food to eat.  Today, I also remember that there are those who do not have enough to eat, and I hear you calling me to share what I have with those who need it.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.”

One thought on “Listening Prayer

Leave a Reply

